Local Government
Corrigin
Region
Wheatbelt
Bilbarin
Corrigin
Wheatbelt
Type | Status | Date | Documents | More information |
---|---|---|---|---|
(no listings) |
Type | Status | Date | Documents |
---|---|---|---|
RHP - Does not warrant assessment | Current | 31 May 2019 |
Type | Status | Date | Grading/Management | More information | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|
Category | Description | ||||
Municipal Inventory | Adopted | 19 Mar 1997 | Category B |
Category B |
The town precinct demonstrates a way of life no longer practised. It is significant for the history and the associations with the pioneers of the district.
All that remains of the 1920s town of Bilbarin is the Hall, which was constructed later to replace a previous hall, the school teachers residence, the tennis courts, a plaque marking the school site, and various remains and artefacts where the various establishments were located.
The remains of Bilbarin town tells a story of the development and decline of a town in the wheatbelt. Each element is related to another, and interpreted within the context of the precinct.
Bilbarin School opened in 1916, and the first store in 1919. In 1921, the first school concert was held in the new hall, and the first Scotch Night was held in 1923. In 1926, the Corrigin Co-op opened a branch in Bilbarin (operated until 1947), and the National Bank operated half a day a week, in addition to the formation of the Bilbarin Tennis Club. In 1928, the Tearooms opened, and in 1929, the hall was destroyed by a cock-eyed-bob, to be replaced by the second hall in 1930. In 1931, the concert group called the Merrymakers formed, and the cricket club in 1932. In 1933, CBH began operations and the stacks of bagged wheat became a thing of the past. In 1936, the second hall was destroyed, the school closed in 1938, but re-opened in 1945. In 1956, the third hall was opened. In 1965, Bilbarin School closed, in 1975 the Post Office ceased operating, and in 1978, the last shop in Bilbarin closed.
Ref ID No | Ref Name | Ref Source | Ref Date |
---|---|---|---|
Haig R; "Corrigin Pioneering Days and Beyond". | Shire of Corrigin | 1982 |