inHerit Logo

Erikin School - Site of

Author

Shire of Bruce Rock

Place Number

10816

Location

Langdon Rd Erikin

Location Details

Other Name(s)

Kwolyin East School (2)

Local Government

Bruce Rock

Region

Wheatbelt

Construction Date

Constructed from 1915

Demolition Year

1931

Statutory Heritage Listings

Type Status Date Documents More information
(no listings)

Heritage Council Decisions and Deliberations

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Other Heritage Listings and Surveys

Type Status Date Grading/Management More information
Category Description
Municipal Inventory Adopted 11 Sep 1997 Category 5

Category 5

An historic site without built features.

Statement of Significance

The site represents a way of life associated with education and early settlers, which is no longer practised.

History

In 1915, the East Kwyolin School was a more central site on DArlington's block and continued to operate as Esat Kwyolin School. In 1921, the name was changed to Erikin School. In April 1931, the school closed. Jimmy McCullock put the school on wheels and his team of bullocks relocated it to a site in Kellerberrin.

Condition

Site only

References

Ref ID No Ref Name Ref Source Ref Date
JK Ewers;"Bruce Rock the story of a District". Bruce Rock District Road Board. 1959
A Lovell;"Bruce Rock A Revised History". Shire of Bruce Rock 1993
V Buller;"History of Schools in the Shire of Bruce Rock 1911-1988". Bruce Rock Tourist Committee 1988

Creation Date

03 Mar 1998

Publish place record online (inHerit):

Approved

Last Update

01 Jan 2017

Disclaimer

BESbswy