Interfoods, 14 South Terrace

Author

z Fremantle ARCHIVED 201216

Place Number

03712

Location

14 South Tce Fremantle

Location Details

Local Government

Fremantle

Region

Metropolitan

Construction Date

Constructed from 1897

Demolition Year

N/A

Statutory Heritage Listings

Type Status Date Documents
Heritage List YES 08 Mar 2007

Heritage Council Decisions and Deliberations

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Other Heritage Listings and Surveys

Type Status Date Grading/Management
Category
Municipal Inventory Adopted 18 Sep 2000 Level 2
Register of the National Estate Registered 21 Oct 1980
Classified by the National Trust Classified 09 May 1983

Statement of Significance

The place is of historic significance as an example of a commercial building in the Fremantle Town Centre dating from the early decades of the twentieth century. The place is a fine example of a Federation Free Classical style building, with elaborate stucco decoration above the ground floor level, that makes a significant contribution to the streetscape. Awning and shop fronts are not significant.

Physical Description

Two storey rendered building with a parapet and decorative and central pediment, has a zero setback from the pavement. The first floor façade has arched windows with stucco semi-circular arches and keystones onto engaged pilasters. The ground floor is metal framed with glass, which is not original. The verandas have a zincalume roof supported by metal columns with a fringe between; the first floor also has brackets and a balustrade (probably not original). An external Heritage Assessment was prepared in May 2009 by Philip Griffiths Architects for a DA submission to Council (DA197/09) for an awning over the existing verandah.

History

From the rate books it would appear that 14 South Terrace was constructed by Arthur E. Davies in 1897 as a shop and dwelling. The following year Mr Davies opened a restaurant in his building which in 1901 was called 'Spanish Restaurant', in 1907 'Imperial Restaurant', and remained as such until 1948 when the new owner Mr Ezio Luisini altered the usage to that of a shop. It was later a lodging house owned by Luisini into the 1970s. The lodging house at the rear of 14 South Terrace was demolished in 1985. In 1986 a new arcade and restaurant was built in its place. This new two storey building extends across the rear of both 14 and 16 South Tce and houses restaurants. In 2001/02 a second storey verandah was built for a new restaurant on the first floor, Pizza Bella Roma restaurant. An external Heritage Assessment was prepared in May 2009 by Philip Griffiths Architects for a DA submission to Council (DA197/09) for an awning over the existing verandah.

Archaeology

May be remains of original shop and residence.

Condition

Good.

Other Keywords

The Fremantle MHI management category for this place was retained as adopted by the decision of Council on 28/09/2011.

Place Type

Individual Building or Group

Uses

Epoch General Specific
Present Use COMMERCIAL Shop\Retail Store {single}
Original Use COMMERCIAL Other
Present Use COMMERCIAL Restaurant

Architectural Styles

Style
Federation Free Classical

Construction Materials

Type General Specific
Wall RENDER Smooth
Wall BRICK Common Brick
Wall RENDER Bagged

Historic Themes

General Specific
OCCUPATIONS Commercial & service industries

Creation Date

24 Jul 1995

Publish place record online (inHerit):

Approved

Last Update

21 Mar 2019

Disclaimer

This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.